Akron

Six months in between postings. So either nothings been going to write about, or too much has been going to have the time to write about it. Fortunately it is not the latter. In the way of everything, 2012 has been much better than the past few years, not that the past few years have been all that bad. In actuality in being completely honest if anything has been wrong in the past few years it’s been my prospective. At the end of 2011 I resigned to make the next year better, and wouldn’t ya know, it’s been pretty bang on. I’ve been staying super busy with work but not so busy that I haven’t been able to keep up with my training.

Ever since February I’ve been able to roll from one show to the next. Suffice it to say that it is a very good time to be in the business in North Carolina right now. At any given moment there has been at least a half-dozen shows going on. Actually I think the current count right now is somewhere around 10. Just about everyone I know is working, which is rather unbelievable and fantastic.

I currently find myself in my old stomping ground, of Winston-Salem for the second time this year. I did a show for Hallmark a few months ago and now I’m back doing a feature called You Are Here. This show actually took over the exact same office space that we were using for the Hallmark show. I’ve been very grateful to have been lining up so much work. This is my first full year away from being in the trenches on Army Wives. It’s a very different world when you have to continually hunt down work as opposed to being on one show for 8 months or more at a time. Still, I’m glad that I’ve returned to NC and clearly I made the move at just the right time.

You Are Here is going quite well. Actually that would be a bit of understatement. Now I know I’m kind of prone to grandiose and somewhat exaggerated language sometimes, but seriously this is the greatest show ever and will go down as one of the best work experiences of my life…….¬† Really, the show is great. Everyone gets along well and my immediate boss and the rest of the higher-ups have all been great people to work with. It’s a decent sized show and we’ve got a ton going on, but no one is crazy. I keep waiting for the shit to really hit the fan and for people to start losing their minds like what happens on the majority of shows but this one seems to be the exception because it’s just not happening and we’re over a month into it at this point. Truly, I’m getting spoiled rotten on this one and I know it and I’m grateful for it. We’ve been keeping to 12 hour or less days routinely. Some might wince at that but in the world of film and TV, that’s a pretty short day.

So that said, I need to get between 6-8 hours of sleep to have a level of function beyond that of a zombie so that leaves me with 4 whole hours to do with as a I please. Those precious few hours are mostly spent training. And hey, knock on wood, I’ve been injury free through three months of training now and I’m feeling pretty good. Just yesterday I had a 75 mile bike race that took me up and down a few mountains. By far, it was the toughest race I’ve ever done and for the first time I was really doubting whether I could actually get it done. The third mountain climb really got me and I had to stop 3/4 of the way up and catch my breath, but in the end I made it across the line alive and on this one, that was good enough for me.

The view from the top

The scary thing is that this race is just a warm up for Blood Sweat in gears on June 23rd.

http://www.bloodsweatandgears.org/

BSG is 25 miles longer and 2,000 ft higher. I honestly don’t know if I can do it. 75 miles is now the furthest that I’ve been on a bicycle and 9,000ft elevation gain is my current ceiling. I’ll blow by that if I’m able to drag myself and blumoly across the line. I have more than a few people ask me, the question “Why? Why are you doing this?” “Did you lose a bet?”. There are many reasons why I run and bike but I’ve managed to narrow it down to 2 primary reasons.

One: Because I can

Two: Because I don’t know if I can.

I’m gonna do this thing. I’m excited, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t also really nervous. Nobody wants to bail out of a race, but this one might humble me to that point.

In any event all of this training is towards one big goal. Akron. I’ve got my eyes set on a sub 4 hour marathon and I’m hoping to pull it off at the 10th running of the Akron Marathon on September 29th. This will be a special race for me. If i’m able to do it will be my first sub 4 hour marathon and it will happen in my birth town and where my grandmother is. I’m really aiming for something special here. I don’t want to just squeak in at 3:59. I want to really kill it. It will be the first time my grandma and a lot my family will see me do my thing. And not to be morbid, but none of them are getting any younger. I’m grateful to have had only lost one grandparent thus far. But unfortunately the medical and science community hasn’t really locked down the whole death thing just yet. It’s really something that needs more focus and funding because it affects a lot of people.

I’m not known for my speed so this is quite a challenge for me. So far all is well though. It’s nice to be training around Winston-Salem again where it all started for me. I have a lot of great memories here. More than a few times I’ve been running down a road and a memory will pop into my head and I’ll go “Oh yeah, I totally remember throwing by that building”. Speaking of throwing up my current temp roommate in Winston is running the Beat the Heat 5k. That was the first race I ever ran back in 2007 and yes, I threw up in the end. 6 months later I was a running my first 50k and the rest, as they say, is history.

Well that’s about all the time I’ve got. I’ll try to keep this thing a little more regular in the months leading up to Akron. No promises though, as with most things in my life, running comes first.

Oh and a couple months ago I ran the Palmetto 200 for the second year in a row. It was even better than last year and here is the proof!

http://www.facebook.com/v/560187239787

~ by glennikin on June 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
