Run before you walk

For the past 1 1/2 years I have been plagued with injuries, the biggest of which being a severe ankle sprain, but I’ve had shin splints, groin pulls, bike crashes  you name it. I’ve gone through months of physical therapy, and chiropractic work. I’ve had shots, x-rays, a couple MRI’s and 4 different doctors and therapists work with me. To say it’s been frustrating would be an understatement. There were a few times when I was ready to put up my running shoes for good. Several of my friends can attest to this from late night depressing phone calls. In April I ran the Palmetto 200 relay race, and after that I was done. It just became to uncomfortable and too painful to run. It got to the point where even just walking around and standing became difficult. On set I was having to take sit down breaks every 10-15 minutes. I was really at the end of my laces. I felt like I had tried everything, and after very nearly doing just that, I finally saw Dr. Eric Bassett, and physical therapist Yves Gege. I give 100% of the credit to these two men for getting back in my shoes where I quite frankly belong.

Dr. B runs a chiropractic clinic, Harbor View Chiropractic, on James Island in Charleston SC.

I was skeptical at first,  and he can definitely attest to that, but I felt almost immediate improvement after just the first visit, which was…..painful. Over the years a good deal of damage had been accumulated in my lower extremities and which had been neglected by me and the ankle sprain didn’t help matters. If I hadn’t been my usual stubborn head strong self, my rehab would have probably been much shorter but consequently, I’ve been dealing with this for 1.5 years. Lesson learned…the hard way.

Of course after the first visit the pain and discomfort returned just a couple of days later. It took many more appointments before things started to stick.

At the same time I was going to PT with Yves at Imagine Physical therapy.

I began this program much like I began everything else, a skeptic. But after a few weeks I was finally seeing some light at the end of the tunnel.

I’ve moved to Charlotte now so I haven’t been able to see either Yves, or Dr. B but I’ve been keeping in touch and following my therapy routine religiously. I have about an hours worth of exercises and stretches that I do every other day and directly after finishing any long run, ride, or long day at work I take a 10 minute foot ice bath followed by 5-10 minutes of massage work. I have also been getting a massage once a month focusing on my legs and left ankle. I have a lot of time and money invested into this and just like any investment I expect a reasonable return and that is finally starting to happen.

I’m not really superstitious but I didn’t want to post anything until I really felt good. I’ve been training hard since the beginning of August and as of today my weekly running mileage is 40-50 and cycling ~150. Not bad for 1 1/2 months worth of work. My legs and body seem to be responding well and I’ve been feeling stronger each week. Ironically, I feel like total crap as I write this. I’ve come down with some sort of bug that has just completely sapped my energy. I ran 8.5 miles on the greenway trail Wednesday evening. It wasn’t a particularly strong run but that day had been kind of disappointing so my head just wasn’t in it. Then I woke up thursday feeling like death. I’ve been feeling light-headed, fatigued, and I’ve got more drainage than a gutter in downpour. (sorry best I could do on that one) I have no idea what I did. It was like someone flipped a switch. I was feeling great one day, and then like crap the next. I went out for a group ride today and felt tired and winded. A couple of friends were nice enough to hang back with me and help pace me through because I was just bonking.

I don’t feel like I’ve over trained but I’m going to try backing off for a week. It could also be stress. I will say that unemployment, as good as it is for the body, is not so good for the wallet. I really haven’t had a full-time gig since the end of July on Homeland. I came on that show as the On Set Greensman in June, but was more or less downsized out of a job but the end of July and since that time I’ve just been day playing. I’m not exactly at the point of eating Ramen every day (today I had seared tuna with a spicy dry rub and lemon juice drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette in a tomato basil wrap with romaine lettuce, tomatoes and fresh mozzarella with some sweet potato fries and sautéed broccoli and musrooms……I like to cook) but still, I got student loans to pay down. I’m aiming to have them completely paid off by my 30th birthday which is about   1 1/2 years away. Right now I’m about 55% there so it’s completely possible if I work steady for that year and a half. The rumor mill is chock full of productions coming to North Carolina so hopefully I’ll land something soon.

So, up until these last few days I have been feeling  great. Great enough that I’m relaunching a little project that I started in 2007 but was unable to complete. Yup, Running for Walking is back. I learned a lot the last go around and I’ll use that experience this time to see it through. I’ve got a new website in the works, promotional and publicity materials, a new and improved route, and a simpler more streamlined donation system. I’m not pushing Running for Walking out to that many eyes and ears just yet though. I first want to make sure that I’m physically fit. So, for the next year training is going to be my focus. Barring any more injuries, my goal the fall of 2013. So I’ve got two years, but like I said first things first, I’ve got to turn myself back into a running machine. I’ll still be updating everyone on my progress and as the date gets closer I’ll be pushing it out there more and more. Though, please feel free to tell whomever you’d like about what I’m trying to accomplish. Any support at any time is always welcomed.

Thank you to my friend Patrick Bullion for lighting the fire under my ass to get going on this again. This run’s for you man, miss ya.

 

~ by glennikin on September 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
