Help Austin!

I’ve been super busy, as per usual, and I still am. So what am I doing on here? It must be important. I’m not going to debate the merit of religion, and I’m not going to be talking about running…….so what could that possibly leave?

Friends are the most important thing we have. I know all of my friends have in one way or another helped shape me into who I am today. We lose contact with people, and grow apart but we should never forget the impact they had on our lives, and the important role they played. Furthermore, when they find themselves in their hour of need we have a responsibility as friends and decent human beings to answer the call. That time is now for my old college buddy Austin Jennings. Last week he was diagnosed with testicular cancer. I’m shocked, as I’m sure he is as well. The guy is only 25 but Lance was diagnosed right around the same age as Austin. That said, if anyone can put cancer its place, it’s Lance and this guy. I have no doubt that with his level of determination and his infectious positive attitude towards life and the world that we will soon be sharing stories about how he over came this disease.

Unfortunately, determination and positivity only go so far. We live in the real world, and that world revolves around the dollar bill. As you might expect, surgery and treatment is going to run him a little bit more than a trip to the family physician. And as you might also expect (I’m sure many of you will actually probably directly empathize with) his insurance does not cover the procedure. So now, on top of having to battle cancer, he’s got to battle bills. Our health care system is wack. But it is what is, and it’s not going to change in time to help Austin, so it is now up to us to help. Many of you know him, many of you don’t. I ask for your support either way.

Visit the site http://helpaustin.com/ to learn more about his story and donate, if you have it in your means. He has raised nearly $9,000 already. His surgery is expected to cost between $10,000-$30,000

Drop him a line of encouragement on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/notes/austin-jennings/austin-has-cancer/10150682864830105

Even if you don’t know the guy, the fact that you just take a moment out of your day to say a few words means more than you know. It some ways it means even more coming from a complete stranger.

Today I was having a kind of rough day, then one of or guys on our crew came down with Pneumonia, another’s dog died, another got in two accidents and then had his car stolen the following day, and now one of my friend’s has been diagnosed with cancer. I have done some re-evaluating on the day and have concluded that I’m actually pretty good.

Again, please just take a few minutes. I really really appreciate it and I know Austin does as well.

Live strong buddy.

 

~ by glennikin on June 28, 2011.

One Response to “Help Austin!”

  1. All the best to you, Austin. Be positive and stay strong. (I’m a friend of Glenn’s in New Mexico)

Leave a Reply

 
