In the long run

Sorry about the blog drought. I’ve been super busy over the past couple of weeks moving into a new place and preparing to go under the knife. Yeah, not stoked about that but I’ll get to that in a minute.

I’ve finally moved into my own place. No roommates this time. I just can’t do the roommate thing anymore. Two bad experiences is enough for me. Actually the latest roommates were only a 50% bad experience. Andrew is a great guy. We’ve become really good friends. He’s a positive hardworking, and talented dude. He’s a classical musician who has started up his own local classical music company called “Classical Charleston“. If you’ve got plans to get hitched in Charleston you should look him up. His website is www.classicalcharleston.com

So yeah, ambitious, charismatic, all around great guy. His other half…not so much. In fact she’s the polar opposite. For all intents and purposes she just seems to hate life and everything associated with it. That sounds like a harsh assessment, but I pride my self on being honest and I just don’t know how else to describe her. I’ve never met someone with such a negative out look on life. Not a day would pass where she wasn’t upset or complaining about something. My point is, that kind of person can make for a really difficult environment to live in. I did my best to coexist. I offered up so many olive branches that my tree is practically bare. I won’t rant any more about this. I wish Andrew the best of luck. Normally I don’t believe in luck, but he might need a little.

Anyhow, the new place is great. Here some stills of the model that I built prior to moving.

The 2nd floor

The Media Room

1st Floor Bathroom

The Livingroom

The Livingroom looking towards the stairs

The Kitchen

Overhead of Dining area

Yes, I built a model. It’s easy to spot the nerds. The ladies at the leasing office were really baffled when I came over, measuring tape and clipboard in hand. I spent about an hour measuring the “model apt”. I didn’t trust the dimensions they offered on their website, and they weren’t nearly detailed enough. I wanted everything down to the molding. I actually gave them a little grief for being off on one of the rooms by a whole 4″!

It actually ended up looking pretty close to the model. It took me about 2 days to paint all of the rooms. I’m digging it. It’s really nice to come home to “my place”. The last time I had that was….never. I’ve been living in a variety of houses with a number of different roommates for the past 6 years. This is a pleasant change of pace. Not being awoken in the middle of the night by the sounds of passion and lust is a definite plus.

I was rushing to get everything set up, because once Wednesday of this week hits, that’s it, I’m done. That might be a little dramatic. Actually, I was out for a ride today with my cycling buddy David, and I was talking to him about how nervous I was about this operation and how bummed I was that I was going to be sidelined for a month or more. Then David started reminiscing about that time he had to have brain surgery and re-learn english. Ah, perspective.

So the surgery. I have a small bone spur on the top left hand side of my right foot. See X-ray.

Are you kidding me? I can barely see it!!!

I will silence the cynics straight away by saying that this is not a direct result of my running. This spur has been there for as long as I can remember and certainly well before I started running and cycling. I remember being fitted for my first running shoe. It was difficult to find a shoe that worked for me b/c most shoes would rub against the spur. I eventually found a shoe (I heart Asics) that worked for me and didn’t irritate the spur too much, and that’s how I’ve been running ever since. Now, anytime I have ever had a problem or an injury, it has always stemmed from my right foot? Could this be a result of my bone spur? I’m certainly hoping so. I started having a problem with my foot again towards the end of October. After completing a 37, and 40 mile run it became a serious problem. It got to the point where I couldn’t get past mile 7 without experiencing pain and discomfort. I tried to adjust my stride and gait to compensate but my foot was having none of it. It got to the point where I just couldn’t run properly anymore. At that point I sought the advice of a Podiatrist. After examining my foot he recommended that I have the spur removed, but that I wasn’t in any immediate “run ending” danger. He made an adjustment to my orthotics by cutting off the front 1/4. I was really apprehensive about doing that. Apparently my orthotics have not been sitting in my shoe properly, but nonetheless, it is how I have been running for the past 3 years and now all the sudden something was changing, and it was changing a month before the 100k. After making the adjustment he recommended that I give it a few days and go for a few short runs to see if it alleviated the discomfort and made any noticeable improvement. It didn’t. I returned to the doctor and we both reached the consensus that the spur was the most likely culprit and should be removed as soon as possible, less I cause further damage. Unfortunately the spur is in the most inconvenient of places. It is rubbing against one of the tendons in my foot, hence why it’s become such a problem. The tendon is becoming irritated, and eventually if nothing is done and I keep increasing my mileage, the doctor said it could rupture and then my foot would more or less explode. I’m all for not having my foot explode so we scheduled the surgery for the 9th of December. It was fortunate that he was able to fit me in so soon because otherwise it would have had to have waited until at least July or August because I simply can’t afford to miss a couple of weeks on Army Wives. However, this does mean that I will be missing the 100k on Dec 19th.

That’s a huge disappointment. I’ve been working so hard to get ready and I’m in the best condition of my life. I’m so ready to do this and to not be able to take a crack at it is depressing to say the least. What’s more, I found out that it is a qualifier for the Western States!!!

Needless to say, I will be back next year and I will tare that race apart…..actually vise versa is probably more likely.

In the long run, forgive the pun, I know this is for the best, and it’s actually probably a really good thing that I’m having this done and that’s it forcing me to miss the race because I know myself. Even if my fellow running friends, and my doctor advised me not to run it, and even if I knew that I probably shouldn’t, there’s no way I would have been able to resist and I probably would have ended up doing some significant damage.

However, I will still be at the starting line. Back when I registered for the race I also set up a flight from Chattanooga, to Ohio to see some family over the holidays. It worked out perfectly until this surgery thing happened. So I will still be there and I will be cheering on my friend Sarah, as she runs the 10k race. It’s going to be painful to watch everyone dash off and not be able to join. Actually the thought of not running for possibly a month or more (so the doctor says) is something I’m legitimately worried about. Before finalizing the surgery date I tried taking nine consecutive days off of running and biking. I almost lost my mind. I’m a completely different person when I’m not running. It really does mess with my mood. The act of running is just such a potent drug. On day 9 I couldn’t take it anymore. I laced up and dashed out the door and did about 15 miles in 2 hours. That’s relatively fast for me. I can remember the feeling of just putting on my shoes and lacing them up. I immediately started feeling better. I imagine it must be like the feeling a smoking addict gets when she/he hasn’t smoked for days and then has that first drag.

Since then, I’ve scaled back my training in favor of not causing any more damage prior to the surgery. The doc says that I will be completely immobilized for 2-3 days, and then I will have anywhere from 1-2 months before I can run actively again. It all hinges on if there is already any damage to the tendon. I’m hoping that I will recover quickly. Actually, I can’t believe that some 15 millimeters of bone has become such a problem, and that it’s going to sideline me for so long. I don’t know what I’m going to with myself for a month. The doc said that I’ll be able to hop on a trainer to get cardio that way, and I’ll still be able to work on upper body and core strength, so I’m hoping I won’t lose to much of my fitness level. I’ve worked way to hard for that to happen.

I’m doing my best to remain positive and to go into this thing with a positive perspective, but admittedly I’m a little apprehensive and even scared. I usually jump into things whole heartedly without any fear or trepidation, it’s just that they happen to be operating on the thing that I jump with. Plus, I’ve never had surgery. They will be putting me under, and I’m not so keen on that either.

Thankfully I’ve got my cycling buddy David around to help me keep perspective. If he can make it through brain surgery, then I should probably be able to handle this. Thanks David.

Talk to everyone after Wednesday! Positive thoughts are welcomed!!!

~ by glennikin on December 4, 2009.

4 Responses to “In the long run”

  1. 100k’s come and go. Listen to your doctor, it’s for the best. Try picking up a new hobby, or expanding an old one, and immerse yourself in it. You will be back in the game before you know it.

    Great new place, btw!

  2. best of luck to you on wednesday buddy! be thinking about you! it’ll all work out… hope to see you soon.

  3. I like your new place! It seems perfect for you! You always bounce back quickly, so this hopefully won’t be any different. Keep your head up! Ohio very soon!

Leave a Reply

 
