Double Dare

Today I woke up and came across this and it has literally consumed my entire day.

2009-lookout-hp-imgI haven’t thought about anything else all day long. This race takes place in the mountains of Chattanooga again. The elevation profile is similar to that of the Stump Jump, it’s just twice as long. I’m excited, curious, and maybe a tad apprehensive. The race is on December 19th. For the first time I can honestly say that I’m not sure I can do this, but that does make me want to have a go at it.

With the 50k, I knew it would be difficult, but in the back of my head I knew I would be able to get through it, even if I had to walk and crawl. But a 100k? I think a good athlete can get through a Marathon or even a 50k but there is no getting through a 100k without really being prepared and having paid your dues. I mean think I can, but 62 miles is a long long way. I did finish the stump jump with a good amount of energy left though. I don’t know if I had enough in the tank to do it all over again, but I think I can get to that point in two months.

Here’s my logic, and I’m very interested to hear your feedback.

In the two months I have before this race, if I can manage to log a 25, 30, 35 and then one 45 miler by December 1st, I think I could be ready. Of course I will also do a series of short runs, speed work outs, and long distance bike rides. I think I will be dead to the world when the it’s all done and dusted, but I’m just looking to finish. I know I am going to be on my feet for at least 14 hours, probably more like 16. There are some serious challenging climbs.

Picture 1

Does my plan sound sensible? Maybe sensible isn’t the right word to use when trying to attempt to run 62 miles through the mountains. But does it at least seem like a good preparatory strategy? At least I have some time to break in a pair of trail running shoes, which I will definitely want this time around.

I’ve got some travel arrangements to figure out but I think I can make this work. I would like to shoot up to Ohio after wards and visit some family and friends. I’m hoping my friend Sarah will want to come along and run the 10k that is also taking place on the same day. Umm…if you’re reading this Sarah….wanna go running?

Thanks so much for all the feedback from the last post. I would appreciate your input once again.

~ by glennikin on October 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
