Fifty K’s, one Karnazes.

Yeah so this is happening in 4 days.

over 5,000ft of elevation gain.

over 5,000ft of elevation gain.

This will be the most challenging distance I’ve  logged by far. I can run the distance but the elevation profile is slightly terrifying. Love it. Plus I’m running with Dean Karnazes. Doesn’t get much better than that. I’ve read over the course description a few times. It’s mostly packed dirt but there’s a fair amount of technical single track to contend with. It should be a beautiful race though. It’s deep in the hundred acre woods and the leaves should just be starting to change. I’ve done what I can to prepare. It’s kind of hard to train for a hilly trail race when you live somewhere that doesn’t have hills. But like I said before, I’m just going to run my own race. I’m going to listen closely to my body and if I hit a point where I know if I push further  I might end up doing some serious harm, then I’m going to call it a run.

The last few weeks have been great. I feel very fresh and very strong. I’ve been able to log 50-60 mile bike rides one day, and log a long run the day after. I’m really happy with how quickly I’ve been able to recover. I think that is due at least in part to my incorporation of protein into my training. I’ve been using a combination of Accelerade and Cliff Bars while out on the run and it’s been working great. Accelerade is great stuff. If you’re into any kind of endurance sport I highly recommend you give it a go. It has a patterned 4:1 Carb to Protein on top of electrolyte replacement. I buy it in powder form. It’s much cheaper this way and even cheaper if you get it on Amazon, or Ebay. They have a bunch of different flavors. I’ve been digging the lemonade variety. By the way, an hour or so after a run, nothing better than a nice cold glass of milk.

The nectar of life

The nectar of life

In other news I’m working a new idea for a group that I want to create. I don’t want to say too much at this point. I’m still gathering feedback and fleshing it out. Basically through this running journey that I’ve been on, I have discovered my real reasons for embarking on it in the first place. Yes, I hope to raise funds and awareness for Multiple Sclerosis. Yes, I would love to see this disease eradicated from the face of the earth, which by the way I think it will be in 20 years. The Cleveland Clinic has been doing some amazing work and the progress they’ve made over the past decade has been remarkable. I’m calling it right now. MS, 20 years, buh bye. But really, my main reason for doing this is that I want to be an example for people. I want to show people that you can do anything you want, be anything you want, get anything you want, if you are committed, passionate and willing to sacrifice.

I am not built for this. I am not a born runner. I’ve had to work very hard to get where I’m at, and will have to continue to do so for the rest of my life. But that makes the reward all the more, rewarding. If everyone just applied themselves, if we all just reached higher than we think we can, imagine what we could do. Imagine what the world will be like. I (we) aim to affect change in extreme and positive ways. More on this very soon…

~ by glennikin on September 29, 2009.

One Response to “Fifty K’s, one Karnazes.”

  1. GO GET ‘EM, GLENN!

Leave a Reply

 
