Beat the Heat

Actually it was vice versa today. My 15.5 mile run today left me tapped out. I was running on fumes when at the end. I had every intention of getting up before the Sun had a chance to make my life hell, but it didn’t happen like that. I found my self finally walking out the door closer to 10:30. I anticipated it being difficult but I made sure than I ran with enough water. I had a 24 ounce insulated bottle filled with ice and water, my 2 liter camel pack topped off with a combination of ice-water and Gatorade, and two energize power bars. The extra weight coupled with the heat, put me in the hurt locker for most of the run. I really struggled to find my rhythm for the first 3 miles, and then I settled in and was good up until mile 12. By the this point, I had blown throw my water bottle, a power-bar, (which could not seem to make friends with my stomach) and over half of camel pack. To give you an idea of the brutal heat and humidity here, the ice in my insulated bottle had actually completely melted in under an hour and the water was warm not long after. Fortunately my camel pack kept things cool for about 2 hours. Being as hot as it was, I decided to take a nice slow pace of about 12 minutes. I always run with a phone and a credit card in the event I need to make a fuel pit stop. However at mile 12 I was just ready to get out of the soup. Unfortunately I tend to sweat buckets, so I was hydrating frequently. I actually might have drank too much.

Anyhow I was really dying and then a car passenger leaned out his window at a stop light and asked me how long I had gone. Looking at my sweat drenched watched I replied “about 12.5 miles”. His eyebrows raised to that. I explained that I was training for a 50k and then a nice little run up to Ohio. “That’s incredible. You look strong man, keep at it, good luck” I’m not sure to whom he was referring because I felt ravaged. But, I finished the last 3 miles at 8:30 pace. That should give you an idea of the power of a pat on the back. I didn’t even look down at my watch. I just wanted to be somewhere cool. I didn’t even realize I ran at that pace until just a few minutes ago as I was looking at the stats on  my watch. So with that said, if you happen to see me on the road……say something nice.

In non-running news, I’ve started back up on the Credit Union gig. I’ll be traveling the state promoting CU’s, and documenting cultural events and festivals. This week we’re traveling to Greenville, to go to a pro Cycling event!! Wicked. Big names are gonna be there, George Hincappie, Floyd Landis, Dave Zabriskie!! Wicked.

~ by glennikin on August 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
