The needs of the many

shoeimage_forflyer

I’ve made a decision. I’ve been thinking this through for nearly two weeks. I actually wrote this post a week ago. I’m only just now posting it because I wanted to make sure that this was absolutely what I wanted to do and to understand what it REALLY meant. In my last post I said that with my relationship ending, I would take those efforts and energies required to sustain a relationship and point them at training for Running for Walking. That’s exactly what I will be doing. It’s time for me to finish what I started. That said, I will be making a shift in my priorities. Training will be moved to the top, right alongside work. I’ve gotta make money to buy running shoes. What this shift will mean is that running will pretty much come before everything else including social life and relationships. Actually I’m going to approach this much like I would a relationship. I’m going to marry this project. And, just as I would not walk down the aisle and say I do, only to turn around a week later and say “eh not so much” so would I not back out of this commitment. It’s going to take precedence over nearly everything. There will be tough choices to be made, and I have no illusions of just how difficult physically and mentally this will be.

This is it, however long it takes, which I imagine will be about 4-5 years. After initially tackling this project and grossly underestimating how difficult it would be, I am well aware now that this is going to take a long time. Especially with being able to fit it in with my career.

I have to finish this, and this is the only way. I know what it means for the next half decade of my life. It’s a different way of living all together. I have an obsessive personality, and once I get an idea or I commit to something, there’s really no stopping me. I have been spending the past week mentally preparing myself for this change. This really is big for me, bigger than I think I’m even grasping.

Now this does not mean that I am going to be shutting out the world around me, it’s just a shift of priorities and focus.

Why am I doing this? I think Spock said it best.

The needs of the many outweigh, the needs of the few.....or the one.The needs of the many outweigh, the needs of the few…..or the one.

Run long and prosper.

~ by glennikin on July 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
