Who’s bad?

There is only person on this planet that when they pass, they could take the internet with them.

MJ_silhouetteMichael Jackson has moon walked off this mortal coil, and with him he took Twitter, Google, and CNN. When the story broke all three of these sites and social networks went down for a period of 15-20 minutes. I don’t think I have to tell you the number of people required in order for this to happen. This man was larger than I think anyone can really comprehend. He has to be one the most influential, iconic, and controversial figures in history, period.

I first found out about the news while I was on set, and what’s more I get the news via Twitter. As Bob Dylan so aptly put, “Oh the times they are a changin”.

twitter_icons_256

I got the news on Twitter before CNN or any other major news network. Twitter, Facebook, and the like have really changed the face of journalism and reporting. It’s pretty much offered direct unfiltered news which can be a good and bad thing. It’s made everyone a reporter. If you have a phone with a camera,  you’re good to go. One person can have the same voice and reach the same number of people as a multi-billion dollar news network like CNN. For instance, Ashton Kutcher was recently in a race against CNN to get to a Million followers on Twitter before CNN.

ashton_twitter

Essentially, he can put his views and opinions out to the exact same number of people, if not more, than CNN. Crazy. The days of getting your news from the front page of the paper, or even the nightly news are long gone. A story breaks, and I hear about 5 minutes after it happens.

I mean, Twitter is how we’ve been getting a lot of news out of Iran, and the craziness that is happening there, which brings me to my next topic. Segway!!!

Being that Michael Jackson was such a controversial figure head, his death has generated alot of heated discussion. One of my friends, whom I’ll leave anonymous, had posted this on his facebook status on the day of MJ’s death. “disgusted that humanity cares more about a child molester dying than innocent people being killed for political beliefs” I believe this person was referring to the fallout of the Iranian Election, and Michael Jackson. I have a few things to say.

Throughout his entire life and career, MJ was perpetually scrutinzed and under the media eye. Now being a mega super duper star as he was, I understand that comes with the territory. He suffered through accusiation after accusiation, and was really never given a moments rest. I suppose everyone has their own opinion, and view. Here’s what I know. No one knows. No one really knows what happened. You can say you know till you’re blue in the face, but the fact of the matter is that you “think”, you don’t know. What you know is based on headline news, and super market tabloids. However some people apparently know enough to crack jokes, and to post snide, jeering comments on social network sites. Believe me, I am the first person to laugh at almost anything. Comedy is what got me through my adolescent years. In all honesty I faced a lot of trying times growing up, and making light of things, laughing, and trying not to take things so seriously was my way. 85% of the time I am not serious. But there are some things that you just do not make light of at all. Ever. Anyway you spin this, this man was still a son. A brother. A father. And what’s more even if all the acussiations had been absoultely true, you still don’t make light of abuse and assault. By doing so not only would you disrespect a man whose guilt you are not sure of, but you also disrespect those invidiuals who claim to have been effected. Not ever, ever, ever do you make a joke of sexual assualt and abuse, especially when it comes to children. Under any circumstances.

Now, as far as the country being seemingly fixiated on his death…….WHAT DO YOU EXPECT!?!?!? I’m completey baffled why someone would be disgusted with people who care about MJ’s death. This man was an icon and an integral part of so many people’s lives. People grew up on his music. Thriller was the first album I can remember listening to. Truth. Michael Jackson was the first musical artist whom I really knew who he was, as a kid. He inspired millions. So I don’t think it should be surprising in the least that people are more affected by his death than some more random individuals whom they share no personal connection with. I assure you that people have been following the story in Iran, me included. But I can also tell you this. If Mark Hopppus, or Tom Delonge, or Travis Barker died unexpectedly my attention would not be on Iran. I would be crying my eyes out, because I grew up on Blink 182. (PS thank the gods they’re back) Their music was an important part of my adolescence and hell, they still are. They were and are important to me, as MJ was to so many. I mean I certainly wasn’t the biggest fan, but I’m still bumming out over it. The man made some killer, timeless music. I mean there are alot of classic songs from 90’s, 80’s and so on, that we listen to for nostalgic purposes, but there are so few that are still rocking songs that  you could jam to at any given time. He changed the face of pop music, and has sold more records than God. Do you have that on your resume? I just think the man deserves an ounce of respect.

I also think that we hold a certain amout of responsibility. Now, everone is in control of their own lives. We’re all big boy and girls here, and are accountable. At the same time “we” as a whole, are also accountable.  He had to deal with circumstances, and pressures that none of us fully comprehend. All of this was fueled by the media, fueled by us. Every single “wacko jacko” story. I mean I can’t imagine what that would do to a person’s pysche. Is it really any wonder that as time progressed, things got “weirder and weirder”.  I’m not saying that we are responsible, but I’m saying that we shared a part indirectly. Plus, have you ever met a sane genius?

It’s been a crazy week and a half. MJ, Farrah Fawcett, Ed Mchahon, and now I come to find out that the Oxy Clean guy, Billy Mays has also passed away. What’s going on? Also, the grips on Army Wives lost a fellow grip brother, Donald. He was working on the new Miley Cyrus movie in Savannah. He was around a few times last season. Never got to really know him but my thoughts are with him and his friends and family regardless. Like I said, a crazy week and a half.

Oh and to add to the craziness, yesterday was the Army Wives beach bash.

Obstacle Courses and Sunsets

Obstacle Courses and Sunsets

Good times. Plenty of drinks and food on hand. Lots of good company, sand, water, games, and obstacle courses complete with egg fights. I got completely fried too, even after putting on sunblock. The sun is a big bully.

I hate to keep going back to the topic of death. But at one point a lot of people started gathering down at the shore. From my vantage point I saw life guards huddled around a body, perfomring furious CPR. The story I got (which was one of those stories that made it’s way to me after passing through a half dozen people first) was that a 20 something year old man had an asthma attack and the guards actually rescussitated him! Respect to the lifeguards. Oddly enough, at the same time there was a wedding happening on the beach not more than 50 feet away. Odd juxtaposition of life and death.

On a training note, I’m feeling better and stronger than I have in months.

don't_get_cocky

Ah yes Han, thank you.

That’s all I’ve got. RIP MJ.

michael-jackson-concert-2

~ by glennikin on June 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “Who’s bad?”

  1. Thank you for writing this!! I’m really sick of all the shit-talking that’s going about MJ. Yeah, he was a little nuts, but who wouldn’t be after living the life that he lived? To illustrate this point:

    A few years ago, he said his dream in life was to go to a grocery store and shop for food. His friend, who owned a grocery store, shut the store down for a few hours and had Michael’s friends disguise themselves as shoppers in the store so Michael could pretend he was grocery shopping without being mobbed by a crowd. He said it was one of the most fun things he ever did, comparing it to Disneyland. This is incredibly sad to me. How horrible to be this cut off from society.

    He seemed like a very sweet, gentle and caring person. A little naive to think it was perfectly normal to sleep with other people’s kids in your bed, but he saw the world through very different eyes than most people. And I don’t think he ever molested any kids, but that’s just my opinion. I think people took advantage of his openness, generosity and naivety.

    I wasn’t the biggest fan of his music either, but no one can deny his talent and originality. His music was just plain FUN. I hope people remember him for that, and not for his plastic surgeries and child molestation charges. Only time will tell.

  2. MJ grew up with a serious lack of affection from his father. Joe Jackson was a maniac. MJ was just trying to show the affection he felt he lacked growing up to other children. He had love to share and yeah, MAYBE it came across in the wrong manner, but you’re so right, NO ONE really knows what happened.
    The most touching performance I can remember right now from MJ was his superbowl show when all the people in the stadium held up a colored card to create the scene of children holding hands… THAT was Epic.

Leave a Reply

 
