Below the radar

Back from the dead. Sorry for the lack of posts but I’ve been battling a wicked cold for the past week.  Actually my stubborn ass probably would have died had it not been for the persistence of the most wonderful girlfriend in the world. I’m not just saying that either. She is the most wonderful, I did my homework. I researched, took surveys, and what’s more it was even a headline on CNN.

You can't argue with science

You can't argue with science

I also asked five dentists and miraculously all five agreed! See! She even go that stubborn ass fifth dentist to finally come around! Dude never agrees on anything!!! Amazing. By the way she is the person responsible for my awesome Jedi portrait……Yeah…….she puts up with alot. I love her and pay her well for itShe’s a portrait artist, who has skill and talent oozing our her ears. It’s kinda gross and makes a mess, but that’s art. Still if CNN isn’t proof enough for you, go look at her work for your self.

www.kathrynewood.com

You know, the cold I got is probably all due to that steamy make out session I had with Miss Piggy.

Don't give me that innocent look.

Don't give me that innocent look.

I started feeling something coming on last Tuesday, and I was actually sent home from work on Wednesday.  I thought that I could just OD on vitamin C and shake it off.

How to fight a cold

How to fight a cold.

Wrong. It got worse, much worse. Horrible timing, as opposed to really good timing for a cold to come on. But this was particularly bad timing because Kathryne and I made plans to see each other before, actually, as she makes her big move down to the Lone Star State. Oh…yeah…flashback…….

Kathryne moved down to Charleston from Virginia last Fall. After sticking it out here for several months at a Job she could not stand, she decided to leave and explore her options else where.

She’s heading to Texas to get her teaching certification over the summer so she can start teaching art classes in the Fall. She’s one of the most driven passionate people I know. I mean she had the courage to just up and move down to Charleston, and after seeing that it wasn’t working out, she had the courage to just up and move again. She has a strength that cannot be measured and that I don’t think I will ever have. I have no doubt that she will have success.

Anyhow, by Thursday night of last week I was going downhill pretty fast. Kathryne convinced me to sneak away from set on Friday and find a doctor before I died. She found this little walk-in clinic on-line, that was conveniently located 4 miles away from set in North Charleston. It sounded kind of sketch, given that it was in North Charleston, (recently won an award for highest murder rate per capita) and that they accepted coupons, but I was desperate.

Picture 3

The place actually turned out to be pretty decent. I was in and out within an hour. The good doctor prescribed me amoxicillin. Pretty much penicillin. It kind of sucks that you have to go to a doctor to get prescribed something as basic as penicillin, especially since that stuff was stumbled upon by accident anyhow.

In any case, I went to Publix to get it filled, and it ended up being free. Publix has some free drug promotion thing where they just hand out free antibiotics. Pretty awesome.

I was really doubting whether I was going to get well enough in time to see Kathryne, because I woke up Saturday still feeling terrible. But about half way through the day, the drugs started kicking in, and I got to the point where I could speak and move. Oh, new my best friend helped me through as well. Say hello new best friend.

tylenol

This stuff is great. It pretty much relieves everything, and after two tablespoons and 10 minutes, you won’t get past the third sheep. I usually have trouble going to sleep. I’m hoping I don’t become a Tylenol addict.

So Sunday I went up to Winston Salem NC to meet Kathryne and be with her for a couple of days. She was there for her Sister’s graduation, and she was just going to continue on to Texas from there. But we got the chance to hang out for a couple of days. We hadn’t seen each other in months.

We stayed at this quaint little hotel downtown where it sounded like our room had gas. Weird.

Do not molest!

Do not molest!

They also had milk and cookie hour every night! The time that we got to spend together was great. I will miss her like the desserts miss the rain. Actually desserts don’t need rain, so they don’t really miss it because if desserts did get rain they wouldn’t really be a dessert……whatever. I miss her. I’m behind her all the way of course, so we’re really just working on our own lives right now and waiting until those two lives can come back together.

I’m back on set tomorrow. I didn’t really let anyone know besides my boss that I was going to be gone for these two days. I think they all assume I’m dead. I meant to say something on Friday but I actually ended up leaving early b/c I was feeling death’s cold hand.

Oh if you haven’t watched Obama’s speech from the White House Correspondents Dinner, you must. Just another reason why our Preisdent is the jam. Infact…

Bam. There you go. Enjoy.

~ by glennikin on May 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
