Leafwalker

Welcome back. This is my grand return to the blogging world. It might be best if you read the post on the about page, it should catch you up pretty sufficiently, and bring the newbies up to speed on me.

I’ll be making improvements and adjustments as time rolls along, and it seems to be rolling along faster than ever these days. It’s hard to believe that it was two years ago since I started Running for Walking. Firstly let me thank everyone who has been so supportive from the start, middle, and every in between. Let me also assure everyone that it will happen. If I have to crawl to Ohio, it will happen. I was overly ambitious when I started, but that’s my nature. This is going to take years. However long it takes, I’m commited. Right now I’m thinking maybe by the time I’m 30, which is about 4 years away. We’ll see. It has been very difficult with my life and career to make this happen, and I imagine it’s going to continue to be difficult, but anything worthwhile usually is. That said, I’ll keep you posted on the status.

Actually I’m training for a 50K that’s coming up on June 7th. That’s only two months away, and really, I’m vastly out of shape. I’m going to try like hell to be ready in time. I went for a great 9 mile run tonight with my new room mate Andrew. Oh yeah….guess I have some more catching up to do.

Alright So I’m still living in Charleston SC right now.

No, really is that beautiful.

No, really is that beautiful.

When last we left out hero I believe I was working for the SC credit Union league with my good buddy Sid Dishes.

Tour Guide Sid

Tour Guide Sid

I worked on that with Sid, oh and my buddy Grady came on too.

Columbia beerfest.......Grady....after 30 very small beers.....epic.

Columbia beerfest.......Grady....after 30 very small beers.....epic.

We had a really great time. I mean it was a sweet gig. We go to travel the state, live out of hotels, and have total creative freedom. We got to meet awesome people, and go to some really unique and interesting events. Learned a ton, had a blast. Bangerang. But one night sitting in a hotel in i think…..Anderson SC, I got the call to come interview for AW. I hated to leave my friends and a great job, but I had to do what was best for my career.

I got a call to come back on Army Wives for season 3 as the On Set Greensman. Actually I originally interviewed for On Set Dresser, which is basically on the on set art Set Dec rep. He/she kind of takes care of the dressing on set, makes sure everything looks pretty and appropriate….in so many words. Anyhow it turns out that the onset from last season Eric Luling, was available, so he came back. Eric is a great guy. I actually worked under him last season when I was still begging my way onto the show. So anyhow I’m doing greens now, and I kind of get to be a team with Eric, oh and the prop guys Shady, and Scott, both great as well. The on set greensman is much like the on set dresser, only I’m the rep for the greens department. It’s a great job, and another foot in the door. Actually I think I’ve got a whole leg in by now. It’s a nice steady gig until August. The crew is great, and I’m having a blast. It’s a big time commitment. During the week I’m usually up by 5 and home by 8 or 9, most nights. It’s been hard to sneak in training, but I’m doing it. I think I’m actually going to start running to work. Since I’ve moved into my new place, it’s much closer to work.

Ahh yes….new place. Well….suffice to say…..my old place just wasn’t working out. The place just had bad karma, on top of a few other things. I’ll leave it at that. It’s done and over with and I’m in a much better place with completely awesome room mates. I live with the most non typical married couple on the planet. They’re both young artists much like myself. Andrew is a classical musician (cello) and his wife Elina is a makeup artist. They’re both active, fun and genuine. Thank god almighty they’re genuine.

They’re both very talented. Check out their websites, see for yourself.

Elina www.bellelina.com

Andrew www.classicalcharleston.com

So that’s that. I don’t want to make this inital post too epically long, so i think i’ll leave it at that. I’ll be back soon.

Thanks for reading once again, and may the force be with you.

-g

If only....

If only....

~ by glennikin on April 11, 2009.

One Response to “Leafwalker”

  1. Thanks for keeping in touch, Mr. P. Serious congrats on the gig. I’m working on getting in shape myself. My next role is a soldier, but it’s for a so-called third world country, so if I’m still a little portly come time for production, it should still fly.

    Dammit. Now I’m going to have to try to catch that show! Just when I thought it was safe to turn on the telly…

Leave a Reply

 
